Top Ten Football Books: David Ross

In January 20201 David Ross had his novel, There’s Only One Danny Garvey, published. The book centres on central character, Danny Garvey a sixteen-year old footballing prodigy, who Professional clubs clamoured to sign. However, his early promise remained unfulfilled, and Danny returns home to the tiny village of Barshaw to manage the struggling junior team he once played for. What’s more, he’s hiding a secret about a tragic night, thirteen years earlier, that changed the course of several lives. It is a story of irrational hopes and fevered dreams of unstoppable passion and unflinching commitment in the face of defeat. There’s Only One Danny Garvey is, above all, a tale about finding hope and redemption in the most unexpected of places.

Following publication, Ross detailed his top ten football books in early February 2021 in an article in The Guardian, which are as follows:

  1. The Damned United by David Peace
  2. The Blinder by Barry Hines
  3. Best and Edwards by Gordon Burn
  4. A Natural by Ross Raisin
  5. The Van by Roddy Doyle
  6. Fever Pitch by Nick Hornby
  7. McIlvanney on Football by Hugh McIlvanney
  8. Fan by Danny Rhodes
  9. Snapshot by Daniel Gray and Alan McCredie
  10. Inverting the Pyramid by Jonathan Wilson

To read the full article and reasons for his choices, please click here.

FBR Copyright 20214 All rights reserved.

Posted February 8, 2021 by Editor in category "Top Ten Football Books

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.